project seed saving

Last year I decided that I was going to start saving seeds.  I want to be able to sell them and I don’t want to have to buy the same seeds each year, but I do want to enjoy the companion plant benefits of certain varieties.  Plus, it is so much more exciting to be able to buy new and exciting varieties of plants each year.

IMG_20160212_151435386

I decided it was best to start small and easy, because I did not want to burn myself out or get frustrated and give up.  Plus, I am pretty green when it comes to seed saving, so it is probably best that I read up on the subject (anyone with good book recommendations, please share!) before jumping in with both feet.  As such, I saved the seeds from a variety of flowers that I planted throughout the garden to attract our friends the pollinators.  This was supposed to be pretty easy:

  1. Cut dead flower heads from plants
  2. Dry thoroughly
  3. Remove excess biomass and store seeds in a cool, dry place

Easy as cake.  

IMG_20160212_151443800

Wellll.  As it so happens I sort of stopped at step 1 last fall.  It was a totally crazy time and I didn’t have any means to package my dried seeds.  So, they sat there waiting for me to return – much to my surprise and delight.  All I had to bag them up and bring em’ home. Hopefully, most will germinate.  If they do, I won’t have to purchase cosmo, zinnia, nasturtium, calendula (yellow or orange) or marigold seeds.  Woohoo!  I will do a seed viability test today and see how it goes. 

IMG_20160214_083456060

Should my success be true, I will most certainly expand to vegetables this year.  Keep your fingers crossed for me and share any seed saving tips you may have.

Happy gardening!

2 thoughts on “project seed saving

  1. Oh my! I am so glad as I read on to realize that photo was only dried flower heads. At first glance it ooked like dead, shriveled spiders. I was expecting an insect horror story! Haha. Good luck with your Spring crop.

Leave a Reply

