saying farewell to some very special visitors

My father happens to really enjoy cookies.  He once got a fortune from a fortune cookie that said that he dreams about cookies.  Talk about accurate.  I am on the opposite side of the spectrum.  I like salty things and items that have a ton of flavors at once.

Still, some cookies are special.

For as long as I can remember, my aunt has been making the same delicious cookies for Christmas.  She even makes each family member their own plate.  Talk about commitment.  We are all so lucky to receive these tasty delights.  I have tried to savor them over the last couple weeks and it is hard to say which one I will miss the most (usually whichever I happen to have in my hand), but alas all good things must come to an end and I have to say good-bye…at least until next year!

IMG_20151231_160752233
peanut butter balls
IMG_20151231_160830979
chocolate chip and peanut butter bars
IMG_20151231_160814573
snowballs
IMG_20151231_160706910
peanut butter oatmeal
IMG_20151231_160639827_HDR
chocolate chip and nut (not sure if they have a special name!)
4 thoughts on “saying farewell to some very special visitors

  1. Ah, Aunt Linda’s Christmas Cookies and the desire to make them last as long as possible. Warm, happy thoughts. The last cookies you mention had a given name in the past and were shaped into round balls. However, and Aunt Linda would remember better than I, last year they became known as “Cookie Blobs”. Still same great taste explosion in the mouth, just a different visual presentation 🙂

Leave a Reply

