you know you want it…a potato/apple peeler-corer-slicer (in one!)

This is not an advertisement – although I wish that I was paid to write.  No, this is just a conveyance of my extreme joy and approval of a new member of my little kitchen family.  Meet the apple/potato peeler.

IMG_20160104_133704348

It not only peels, but also slices and cores.  It joined our little kitchen community on Christmas day (thanks Aunt Linda), but did not really show off its talent until today.

IMG_20160104_141926906
Scraps that are easy to add to the compost pile

And guess what?

It took me 6 seconds to peel a potato.  Just 6 seconds.  Amazing!  I am actually looking forward to apple season this year.  Not to mention the fact that I can make my own curly fries.

So, if you have an apple tree or really like potatoes, I strongly recommend purchasing this handy dandy piece of equipment.  Your hands wrists and patience will thank you for it.

There are, however, a few things to consider:

  1. If you have wooden counter tops, the suction version may not be for you.
  2. If you have big/long potatoes or apples, I suggest cutting them in half as the machine cannot really do its job with larger specimens.IMG_20160104_140714356
  3. The ends of the potatoes will still have their skins.

Happy cooking!

3 thoughts on “you know you want it…a potato/apple peeler-corer-slicer (in one!)

    1. I know the feeling, but after last year’s never-ending supply of apples, something had to be done. The same when we bought a cherry pitter. Without it, I would have gone INSANE. I think if you have fruit trees, uni-taskers are worth it. I hope you like it as much as I do if you end up deciding to get one.

Leave a Reply

