t is for trellis

My gardening plans for this year are a giant combination of vertical, square foot, bio-intensive and permaculture gardens with a twist of companion planting.  I probably should try one method at a time, but I am feeling rather bold.  There are also a lot of snails where the garden is located.  It is right on the edge of a forest.  I am not okay with this because they are hungry little devils.  Then there is the fact that I need to use my space as efficiently as possible.  And of course, I can be lazy sometimes.  If there is a way to do something a bit more efficiently, I am all for it. So, that is how this crazy experiment has come to fruition.

A major component of my efforts are trellises.  They provide a place for the plants to climb/be tied to which keeps the plants off the ground which offers some protection from pests, allows for better air circulation and enables the plants to better soak up the sun. I am trying out a few different (self-concocted) models.  Some are made out of repurposed metal frames that used to serve as a poor excuse of a fence in the garden.  The others are made from large branches.  Some were dragged out of the forest and a few were donated by the neighbors.  I am also trying different varieties of climbing materials – laundry line, chicken wire, wire fence and garden twine.  We will see how it all goes.  I am feeling good about my efforts.  I made sure that each trellis post is in a hole at least 1 feet/30cm deep and the wooden posts are fastened together with metal wire to ensure maximum stability.  Looking forward to the 15 of May when I can finally plant cold-sensitive plants outside to test them out.

This trellis will be for one variety of pole beans.

WP_20150404_10_49_34_Pro WP_20150418_18_07_22_Pro

I am not entirely sure how I am going to finish this trellis. I am thinking another two “logs” in the middle for added stability and then some chicken wire or more garden twine. However I do it, I want to be able to grow 4 cucumber plants, some morning glories and some beans. This means it has to be very stable.

WP_20150315_11_48_10_Pro[1]

This trellis will be home to 1 butternut squash and one morning-glory. The butternut will grow on the layered garden wire and the morning-glory will grow on the actual frame. It seems like a lot of space (the trellis is about 5 feet wide), but butternuts can be pretty big. In the space in front of the trellis, I will plant bush beans in order to help nourish the heavy feeding squash and corn plants that will be located to the right of the trellis.

WP_20150328_10_31_38_Pro[1]

This trellis will first house peas, then beans and sweet potatoes, plus a few and a few climbing flowers. The space in front will grow fast growing root veggies like radishes and salad. The trellised plants should provide much-needed shade for these plants in the summer.

WP_20150404_15_33_52_Pro

This trellis will be home to peas and then cucumbers and pole beans. My only concern is that I used laundry line as a climbing material and I am worried that the peas will not be able to grab one. We will have to see because they are already planted and sprouted.

WP_20150425_15_48_11_Pro[1]

5 thoughts on “t is for trellis

Leave a Reply

