mary mary quite contrary how does your garden grow?

Not sure about Mary’s garden, but mine is at least prepared to start growing things.

Here is what I have been up to:

I made a small fence out of pallets I found on the street.  I need to attach two more boards on the tall one.  My goal is also to put a trellis on them and then I will have a green “fence”.  Privacy is nice.

WP_20150328_10_30_56_Pro

Before that, I made some trellises out of whatever I could find.  I tied some heavy-duty chicken wire to the metal frame.  I also found some logs/branches and bound them together with some wire I found in the garage.  I buried both of them approximately about 1ft/30cm deep to ensure stability.

WP_20150328_10_31_38_Pro
The frame is 55 inches wide and is nice and strong. Here I will grow butternuts vertically in one half and corn on the other side.
WP_20150315_11_48_10_Pro[1]
My first homemade frame. I want to put another branch in the middle for added stability.

The neighbors were nice enough to give me some straight branches that will make perfect trellises.  I want to construct two more.

WP_20150328_13_01_30_Pro
ah, the kindness of strangers

 The front part of the garden is blanketed in purple.  2 weeks ago it was covered in yellow.  I am very excited to see what comes next!  I am also planning to keep it “wild” for the birds, bees and butterflies.  That means growing wildflowers, mints, lemon balm and chia – among other things.

WP_20150328_12_53_56_Pro WP_20150328_12_54_06_Pro WP_20150328_12_53_45_ProLast weekend we got 3 tons of compost and filled the beds with it.  I am planning to mix in coconut coir and perlite.  The earth below the compost is good, but completely filled with seeds (the garden was completely wild when we got it).  I am hoping this method will help to reduce their (the weed’s) germination rate.

WP_20150328_11_03_11_Pro
Coconut coir expanding from brick to a fluffy, moisture-retaining growing medium.

WP_20150328_12_14_45_Pro
The view from the back edge of the garden.
WP_20150328_12_14_36_Pro
The view from the back of the garden take #2.

Tomorrow and Saturday I want to:

– plant bulbs

– sow spinach, lettuce, arugula, pea and carrot seeds

– finish back trellis + build 2 more trellises

– plant the strawberry plants

– dig trenches for the asparagus roots

Seems like a lot when I think about it, but I am soooo looking forward to fresh air, sunshine and working in the dirt.  That means that it will not really be like work.  One can only hope that it is sunny like the forecast predicts!

3 thoughts on “mary mary quite contrary how does your garden grow?

    1. Thank you for your kind words. I am also looking forward to seeing some green after ripping everything out of the ground and seeing nothing but brown for months.

      Happy spring and have a great day!

Leave a Reply

