eggs.eier.huevos

Typical Hackepeter
Typical Hackepeter

Breakfast in Germany can be pretty disappointing.  It is rarely warm which means there are no fluffy pancakes, crispy hash browns or golden waffles.  Nor is there breakfast sausage or thick-cut bacon.  This sadly results in a major lack of breakfast sandwiches.  That isn’t to say that the breakfast culture isn’t nice – a whole bunch of bread and an array of jellies, meat products (Salami, Wurst) and Frischkäse (cream cheese).  There is also a very popular raw meat sandwich called Hackepeter which I won’t touch because I try to avoid eating uncooked dead animal.  This style of “frühstücken” (breakfast-ing) allows for a leisurely morning of coffee drinking and conversation.

Eggs cooked wrong
Eggs cooked wrong

However, until recently it has left me wanting…more.  This was until I discovered the joy of a hard-boiled egg, on a brötchen (like a roll) with a bit of butter and seasoned with salt and pepper.  Man oh man is it good.  Maybe not the healthiest, but cheap and filling.  Plus, it is a total surprise because I have disliked hard-boiled eggs for as long as I can remember.  I think it has something to do with dying Easter eggs as a child.  I always remember being quite disgusted by the browned edges of the yolk and the unappetizing streaks of color that leaked through the broken shell.  My new affinity could be credited to the fact that I now know how to cook hard-boiled eggs the right way or that I needed something different.  Either way, I am thankful to have seen someone make this tasty little life changer.

Small, Medium, Large and Jumbo eggs
Small, Medium, Large and Jumbo eggs

Each large egg consumed contains 78 calories, 6.3 grams of protein, 5.3 grams of fat, 1.6 grams of saturated fat and 212 milligrams of cholesterol.  The high amounts of fats and protein ensure that the body digests them slower which leaves one filling fuller for longer.  There are questions about consuming foods with such a high cholesterol content, but recent studies have indicated that it cholesterol that is formed from the consumption of too much saturated fat, rather than dietary cholesterol that causes health problems.  I tend to trust history and biology and believe that eggs are a great source of vitamins, minerals and nutrients.  After all, they can produce a new life! This new favorite meal of mine simply needs the colorful addition of some tasty veggies and fruit into the mix.

The best method of cooking a hard-boiled egg is still debatable.  I often read that one should start with enough cold water to cover the egg(s) then bring the water to a rolling boil.  Remove and cover the pan and allow the eggs to sit in the hot water for 6 – 11 minutes (based on how “done” someone likes their eggs).  My method is a not much different, other than the fact that I cook the eggs in the boiling water for about 5 minutes before removing it from the heat because I like my eggs very well-done.  I then let them sit uncovered in the water for about another 5 or 10 minutes, depending on how hungry and brave I am feeling.  The hot water should then be disposed and submerged and the eggs should be covered in cold water to stop the cooking process.  Enjoy immediately, chill for later consumption or add it to your favorite meal (I like to add them to potato salad or a nice salad).

A perfectly cooked egg
A perfectly cooked egg

And a word to the wise…

If you decide that you too enjoy hard-cooked eggs and plan on eating them frequently, an egg slicer can be an invaluable tool.  Do not cheap out on this handy little device.  I bought mine from the dollar store and it was kaput after less than one use.  Learn from my mistake.  Save your dollar.

Leave a Reply

